Specifying Allowed Threats for a Shavlik Protect Agent Policy

You can configure a Shavlik Protect Agent policy to explicitly allow one or more threats. An allowed threat is a threat that was detected on a previous scan, that you perceive to be benign or useful, and that should be allowed on the target machines. For example, the WeatherBug is an adware program that you may choose to allow on your users' machines.

Note: The threats you allow here affect Active Protection and any threat tasks you may have defined in the policy.

Please note the following:

You use the Allowed Threats tab to specify which threats you want to allow. Only threats that have been detected on previous scans will be displayed on this tab. For example:

Note: You can also add threats to this list from Threat Events View and from Machine View.

 

After selecting one or more threats, click Save and Update Agents. When the agents check-in and download the new policy, if they detect the allowed threat it will just be ignored.

 

Check All

Select all threat check boxes in the list.

Uncheck All

Clear all threat check boxes in the list.

Save and update Agents

Saves all changes to the policy file and stores it on the console. Also updates any agent machines that are currently assigned this policy as follows:

  • If an agent machine is online and configured to listen for policy updates, the updated policy will be pushed out to that machine immediately.

  • If an agent machine is online but is not configured to listen for policy updates, the updated policy will be pushed out the next time the agent checks in with the console.

  • If an agent machine is not currently online, the updated policy will be pushed out the next time the agent checks in with the console.

The Agent Policy Editor will be closed.

Cancel

Indicates you want to exit the Agent Policy Editor without saving your most recent changes. A "Do you want to save your changes?" prompt will appear that gives you a second chance to save your changes. If you click Yes the policy will be saved and the associated agents updated (the same as Save and Update Agents).  If you click No the Agent Policy Editor will be closed without saving your changes.