Managing Credentials

Important! If there are two or more administrators using Shavlik Protect, each administrator should provide their own machine credentials. For details see Potential Issues When Using Multiple Admins.

The Credentials Manager is used to manage all credentials used within the program. It is also used to set the default credential for the program.

Although you can supply new credentials from several different areas of the program, all of the credentials can be edited and deleted from this single location. This greatly simplifies the credentials management process. For example, if a password that is used to authenticate a specific group of machines changes, you simply use the Credentials Manager to update the associated credential. All items assigned to that credential are automatically updated with the new password.

To manage the credentials used by the program, select Manage > Credentials.



Enables you to add a new credential. See Defining Credentials for details.


Enables you to modify the selected credential. See Defining Credentials for details.


Deletes the selected credential. You can delete multiple credentials at the same time.

When you delete a credential the following occurs:

  • The credential itself is deleted

  • All usages of the credential throughout the program are deleted

  • If it is a shared credential, the shared credential and all its usages are deleted

Caution! Any items using the deleted credential will no longer be assigned a credential. Before you delete a credential you should browse your machine groups to verify the credential is not being used.


Tip: This credential cleanup tool will typically be used immediately following an upgrade from an earlier version of Shavlik Protect that does not contain the Credentials Manager.

Enables you to merge one or more credentials that contain the same user name and password with another credential entry that also contains the same user name and password. Or you can merge several different credentials into one new credential that is effective in all situations. By eliminating duplicate and unneeded credentials you reduce confusion and lessen the chance for human error.

  1. On the Credentials Manager dialog select the credential(s) you want to merge with another credential.

  2. Click Merge.

The Merge Credentials dialog is displayed. For example:

  1. At the bottom of the dialog do one of the following:

  • Select an existing credential: The credential(s) specified in the Confirm credentials to merge list will be merged with the credential you select here.

  • Create a new credential: The credential(s) specified in the Confirm credentials to merge list will be merged with the new credential you create here.

Note: A shared credential can only be merged with another shared credential. Therefore, if any of the credentials in the Confirm credentials to merge list are shared, then (1) only shared credentials will be offered for selection in the Existing box, and (2) any new credential you create will automatically be defined as a shared credential.

  1. Click Merge.

  2. Read the message on the confirmation dialog and if you agree with the merger, click Merge.

View usages

Enables you to see how and where the selected credentials are being used in the program. Only those credentials that are currently being used in the program will be displayed in the Credential Usages dialog. A credential may be listed multiple times if it is used in different areas of the program.

You can right-click on any list item and perform a number of different actions.

  • Assign different credential: Enables you to assign a different credential to the selected item(s). You can assign a different credential to multiple items at once but only if they all have the same Shared Usage value (Yes or No).

  • Expand all: Expands all lists.

  • Collapse all: Collapses all lists.

  • Export selected credential usages to CSV: Export information about the selected items to a Comma Separated Values (CSV) file. The CSV file can then be used within a spreadsheet program.

Set as default

Assigns the selected credential as the default credential. The program will use the default credential if other credentials are missing or invalid. See Credential Precedence for information on when the default credential is used.

Clear default

Removes the default credential assignment.

User Name

Displays the user name portion of each credential.  


Displays the unique name assigned to each credential.


Displays whether the credentials are shared credentials. The information in this column is directly related to the Share this with background tasks, Agents, and other features check box on the Define Credential dialog.