Machine Group Dialog: Bottom Section

When viewing a machine group, the bottom section of the machine group dialog displays the machines that are currently members of the group. The bottom section also enables you to perform actions on individual machines within the group.

The bottom section contains the following items and capabilities:

Note: These actions can also be performed by right-clicking on one or more machines.

 

Removes the selected machines from the current machine group.

Enables you to edit the name or IP address of an existing group item. The item is displayed in the middle pane, allowing you to modify the name and then add the item back to the group using the new name.

  • : The selected machines will be included when scans are performed on this machine group.

  •   : The selected machines will be excluded when scans are performed on this machine group.

  • : The ability to provide administrative credentials for the selected machines in the group. Credentials assigned to individual machines will take precedence over credentials assigned to the group.

When credentials are applied to the selected machines, the icon in the Admin Credentials column will become active ( ). In addition, the name of the assigned credential is displayed next to the icon.

  • : Applies only to domains and organizational units. Enables you to provide browse credentials that are used to locate all machines in a specific domain or OU. These credentials may be different than the administrator credentials used to connect to the machines in the domain or OU.

When credentials are applied, the icon in the Browse Credentials column will become active ( ). In addition, the name of the assigned credential is displayed next to the icon.

  • : Removes specified credentials from the selected machines. The credentials icon will become dimmed ( ). Any group-specific credentials will still be applied to the machines.

For more information on setting credentials see Defining Credentials.

  • : Defines e-mail options for the selected machines. Defining e-mail options for individual machines overrides any e-mail options defined for the group. The e-mail options enable you to define which reports (if any) will be automatically sent— and to whom they will be sent— whenever the machines are used in a scan.

To specify which reports should be automatically sent and to whom they should be sent:

  1. In the Automated E-Mail Settings dialog, select a report in the Reports list.

  2. In the Report Recipients list, select the groups and/or individuals you want to e-mail the report to.

  3. Repeat Step 1 and Step 2 for each report you want to be automatically sent.

  4. When finished, click Close.

  • : Removes all e-mail settings currently applied to the selected machines.

Installs Shavlik Protect Agent on the selected machines.

  • The machines must be added to the machine group using a machine name, domain name, or IP address. You cannot use the Install / Reinstall Agent button to install agents on machines that were added as organizational units, nested groups, or IP address ranges.

  • The machines must be online and connected to the network. If the console cannot make a connection to a machine the install will fail for that machine.

See Installing Agents from the Console for more details.

  • : Verifies the existence of the selected machines.

  • : Verifies that the credentials defined for the selected machines can be used to access the machines.

Enables you to add a note to one or more machines in the group. For example, you might use a note to indicate why a certain machine is being excluded from scans that are performed on the group.

  • To edit an existing note: Select the note, click Add note, and modify the text.
  • To remove an existing note: Select the note, click Add note, and replace the text with a space.

 

Tip: When reordering columns, the column header you are moving will always be placed in front of the column you drag it to.

 

Sort Ascending

Sorts the selected column in ascending order.

 

Sort Descending

Sorts the selected column in descending order.

Column Chooser

Enables you to add and remove information from the table. When you select Column Chooser the Customization dialog is displayed. This dialog is used to store the columns you currently don't want displayed within the table. Simply click and drag the desired column headers from the table to the Customization dialog. For example, if you decide you don't want Browse Credentials Applied and E-Mail Options Applied information displayed in the table, simply drag those column headers into the Customization dialog.

 

If you decide you want an item back in the table, simply click and drag it from the Customization dialog back to the table.

Best Fit

Resize the width of the selected column so that all information in the column is displayed in the optimal amount of space.

Best Fit (all columns)

Resize the width of all columns in the table so that information in the columns is displayed in the optimal amount of space.

 

Group by

Moves the selected column to the first column in the table, effectively grouping the table by that column.