Deployment Template: Pre-Deploy Reboot Tab

 

Never reboot before deployment

This SafeRebootâ„¢ capability specifies that it is unnecessary to reboot each machine before the patches are deployed. The remaining options on this tab will be disabled.

Always reboot before deployment

This SafeRebootâ„¢ capability specifies that each machine should be reboot before the patches are deployed. It is considered a best practice to reboot machines before installing significant new software, especially for large software changes such as operating system service packs.

User Interaction

If you elect to reboot the machines, you can then specify the amount of warning that a logged-on user will receive and you can choose the degree of control the user will have over the reboot process.  You can:

  • Alert the user that a restart will occur when they log off.

  • Elect to force a restart after a number of minutes have passed.

  • Elect to force a restart at a specific date and time.

  • Show a countdown dialog on the user's machine in advance of the restart. To preview the dialog box that the user will see, click Show sample countdown. For example:

  • Select the duration to display the standard Windows shutdown message when the shutdown sequence is initiated.  

  • Allow the user to extend the time-out countdown up to a specified maximum. The maximum can be specified as either a duration or as a specific latest time that the restart will occur.
  • Allow the user to cancel the time-out.  If a time-out is cancelled the patches will not be deployed until the user logs off or manually restarts the machine.

  • Allow the user to cancel the restart. The patches will not be installed until the machine is restarted.